Southwest Roadtrip: St. Mary’s Glaciar, Rocky Mountain High

Hiking up to 11,000 feet above sea level.
Hiking to 11,000 feet above sea level.

I just got back from an amazing vacation!

What made this trip to the Southwest United States so wonderful?  We did something active every day, the scenery was breathtaking, we caught up with family and friends, the history was interesting and the air was clean. First stop:  Hiking in the Rockies to St. Mary’s Glaciar, Idaho Springs, Colorado.  I thought I was in shape until we hiked up to 11,000 feet above sea level!  Happy hiking, hon (that is, if you can catch your breath)!

This is why they're called the Rockies.
This is why they’re called the Rockies.
My aunt, me, cousin and two of my daughters.
My aunt, me, cousin and two of my daughters.
St. Mary's Glaciar.
St. Mary’s Glaciar, Idaho Springs, CO
An old, abandoned gold mine
An old, abandoned gold mine.
A ski gondola inside a shop acts as the fitting room.
A ski gondola inside a shop acts as the fitting room.

6 thoughts on “Southwest Roadtrip: St. Mary’s Glaciar, Rocky Mountain High

Leave a comment