Southwest Roadtrip: Breckenridge, Oxygen For Sale

Snow still on the mountain!

Snow still on the mountain in August! (My daughter and cousin.)

My aunt, cousin and uncle, hosts extraordinaire.

My aunt, cousin and uncle, hosts extraordinaire.

Oxygen for sale!

Oxygen for sale!

Sure sign you’re at a high altitude? The gift shop sells oxygen.

At Breckenridge, Colorado, I didn’t need the oxygen-for-sale to tell me we hiked to 9,000 feet above sea level.  Panting as I walked up the mountain, I wondered why I don’t gasp for air when skiing.  My aunt and uncle said its because the ski lift does the work for me. Thank goodness or skiing wouldn’t be one of my favorite-things-to-do-ever.

We met up with more cousins for lunch (shout out to the Tulsa connection), took a gondola part-way up the mountain and slid down on an alpine slide.  There was a rollercoaster and a maze on the mountain.  We window shopped in the adorable downtown (Hubby starts to hyperventilate when I crane my neck towards a store, so if I purchase anything, it’s on the down low and done quick!)  The water was clear and cold and the flowers exquisite.

Beautiful day!

Alpine Slide image found on the internet.  I don't know this woman but she looks like she's having fun.

Alpine Slide image found on the internet. I don’t know this woman but she looks like she’s having fun.

Crystal clear water from the mountains.

Crystal clear water from the mountains.

Hubby, Tween Daughter, Me, Three Cousins and one-on-the-way, Teen Daughter

Hubby, Tween Daughter, Me, Three Cousins and one-on-the-way, Teen Daughter

6 thoughts on “Southwest Roadtrip: Breckenridge, Oxygen For Sale

Leave a Reply

