Sisterhood of the Traveling Bracelet

IMG_9491 (1)

I have a bad habit. I put things down in odd why-would-I-ever-look-there-again places and then promptly forget where I put them. I’ve devised many strategies to overcome this habit. Baking supplies are in a designated “baking section,” my phone is, generally, in the kitchen, and my keys hang on a key hook (genius, right?). But, when I travel, strategies go out the window, and I waste a lot of time looking for misplaced items.

Hon, you know the expression, “you are your own worst critic”? It’s true. I am. Maybe I should give myself a small break. The latest thing I lost was a bracelet. I was wearing it and then I wasn’t. This happened while visiting my mom in a hospice facility in Baltimore. Talk about distracted! I was that, and agitated and sad and many other emotions. But, still!

The bracelet was a birthday gift from a friend. It was made in Mexico, sold in New Jersey, traveled back to Mexico, returned to New Jersey and then lost in Baltimore. The bracelet was initially too small, but the artisan made me a really nice offer! He said he was visiting family in Mexico and would take it with him, add a couple of links, and then bring it back to New Jersey. He did, and then I lost it!

In Baltimore, I dug through my bags, re-traced my steps, left my name and number at the places I’d been, and then had a thought. To keep the environment sterile, I had to wear a gown while at the hospice facility. Maybe the bracelet had gotten caught on the cuff of the gown? Maybe it was in the garbage?

I called the facility and, when I visited my mom again, searched for the bracelet to no avail. I was annoyed with myself! When did it fall off? Why hadn’t I noticed earlier? Where could it be? I even considered ordering another one but didn’t want to ask for another bracelet to take another trip.

A few weeks later, while emptying a knitting bag, guess what fell out. My bracelet! I couldn’t believe it! Yay!

Either it fell off and into the bag without my realizing it OR is it possible I took it off before gowning up? And if I did, why-oh-why would I drop it in the bottom of a knitting bag and not put it somewhere I might remember? Oh yeah, I know why…because I have a bad habit!

I’d love to hear your lost-and-found stories!

Related Post: Losing things may be genetic. Click Found In a Fishing Boot to another lost-and-found story.

Shout out to Lucy who lent me her tail for the photo. (“Woof!”)

 

 

8 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the Traveling Bracelet

  1. It’s gorgeous, so glad you found it!! P.S. thought that was Lucy’s tail:) Heard about a medical resident, couldn’t find her car after a long shift and assumed it was stolen. Bought a new car and 6 months later saw a filthy car in the parking structure and realized it was her lost car…

  2. How about diamond stud earrings that were “lost”, collected on from the insurance co.And the two years later decided to take some pants to the tailor. Tried them on first and Voila!..there were the studs in the pocket. How, why..Who knows.  Had to pay back the insurance co., too!! Luv u, aunt suzanne

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE smartphone

  3. Great story, Naomi. I lost a ring from New Zealand and got my Aunt to look in a huge bin at the cemetery in England. I assumed I lost it when we visited Grandma’s grave. When I found it I felt so bad. I’ve lost it again unfortunately. It was so unique. My parents lost the keys to their car hire right before a big trip in NZ. They had been planting trees and digging over my garden so they dug it all over looking and then I found them in the peg bag. I felt so bad they were exhausted before their trip.

Leave a Reply

