Kindergarteners Are Super

School Visit Materials

School Visit Materials

Last week, on World Read Aloud Day, I shared my love of Kidlit by reading and acting out scenes with Kindergarteners. Not only did I read Ninja by Arree Chung and Twenty-Six Pirates by David Horowitz, I read my own picture book manuscript to three classes.

Since the topic of my picture book is superheroes, I created a handout where the kids could write their superhero name and power and illustrate their super people. The five and six year-olds then shared their creations with each other. Fun!

The kids were excited to be the FIRST kids to see my book dummy.

Reading from my book dummy.

Channeling my charactesrs.

Channeling my characters.

Acting out scenes.

Acting out scenes.

I'm getting into character.

Showing not telling.

Shout out to Wyoming Elementary School’s Kindergarten teachers. When I thanked them for allowing me to visit their classrooms, one teacher sent me this: “Thanks goes to you, Mrs. Gruer, for continuing to be a reading inspiration to the children at Wyoming School!!” Wasn’t that nice?

Super Kids’ Quotes:

To the question, “If you were a superhero, what would your power be?”

A boy answered: “Ocean! I’d save everything that lives in the ocean, even sharks, and all the sea creatures would love me.”

A girl answered: “My superpower is fire and fly!”

Another girl answered: “I am strong and speed!”

To the question, “If you were a superhero, what would your name be?”

One boy asked, “How do you spell “Estaban the Magnificent?'”

 

6 thoughts on “Kindergarteners Are Super

Leave a Reply

