I Turned Into An Elephant Seal

Elephant Seals resting in Big Sur.

Elephant Seals resting in Big Sur.

On a recent trip to California, Hubby and I stopped at Elephant Seal Beach in Big Sur where hundreds, if not thousands, of Elephant Seals snoozed. It was an amazing sight! A guide informed us that the beach was covered mainly with young males, who were resting after spending months in the ocean. He said seals swim 24 hours a day and dive to great depths in search of food but, when they stop on the beach, they don’t eat anything at all.  Which brings me to why…

…I turned into an Elephant Seal after Thanksgiving!

You know I love to cook and entertain, and I was thrilled to have all of my kids under one roof,  in addition to my parents and a daughter’s friend. It was wonderful to see sisters, brothers, grandmas, grandpa, nieces, nephews and cousins. I was on adrenaline overload. So, at the end of the holiday, when I collapsed on the couch for an entire day, all I could think was, I am beached like an Elephant Seal! I  could not move. One big difference between me and a seal, however, is that I still ate.

Hon, there was leftover pie.

Isn't this seal adorable?

Isn’t he adorable?

Two snoozers. They scratch themselves with their flippers.

Two snoozers. They scratch themselves with their flippers.

Have you been to Elephant Seal Beach? What month did you go? The Elephant Seal Beach web-site says what the seals are doing on the beach each month. Fascinating!

7 thoughts on “I Turned Into An Elephant Seal

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Cool Elephant Seal Facts | Bmore energy

Leave a Reply

