DIY Bedroom Makeover

Blue and gray color scheme.

Blue and gray color scheme.

My son’s bedroom needed a makeover so I bought new bedding. Hubby and my son painted the walls. But, the small room with dormers housed wooden dressers and a night table in stains from light to dark. Painting the furniture the same color had been on my “Long-range To Do” list for–well–a long time.

Don’t ask me why I got it into my head that I had to start the project two weeks before Thanksgiving. Maybe it was because my son was coming home for the holiday or because my parents would be visiting (My son’s room, then, becomes the guest room.), but when an idea jumps from “Long-range” to “Do-now,” it won’t let go until it’s finished.

Painting was easy, especially with paint that didn’t require sanding or a primer. Spray-painting is another way to get the job done quickly. The whole project took three days. My son helped pick out new knobs and handles. Voila! The furniture looks great and I like how it coordinates with the bedding.

I have more rooms to tackle, so I’d love to hear any of your DIY decorating tips.

Night table before.

Night table before.

Color chart.

Color chart.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dresser before,

Medium dresser before.

Medium dresser after.

Medium dresser after.

 

 

 

 

 

Dark wood drawers from tall dresser before.

Dark wood drawers from tall dresser before.

Tall dresser after.

Tall dresser after.

 

 

 

 

 

After letting two coats of paint dry, I rubbed a clear wax on top, darkening the grey a bit.

After letting two coats of paint dry, I rubbed a clear wax on top, darkening the grey a bit.

Annie Sloan's paint is called "Chalk Paint" because of the texture once it's applied.

Annie Sloan’s paint is called “Chalk Paint” because of the texture once it’s applied.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Source: http://www.paintingadream.com/

2 thoughts on “DIY Bedroom Makeover

Leave a Reply

