Pecan Pie

Pecan Pie.

Pecan Pie.

I love pecan pie. So, why have I only made it a few times in my life? Because I have a house of picky eaters! But in honor of Thanksgiving, and because I won’t be the only one eating the pie, I tried a new recipe. (previous post with different recipe.)

Luckily, I have a good sense of smell and picked up the “take-me-out-of-the-oven-NOW-scent” because the recipe called for another 10 minutes of baking time. The dark brown crust meant my pie could have come out of the oven even earlier. That won’t stop me–I bet it’s going to delicious.  Happy baking, hon.

Gather ingredients.

Gather ingredients.

Ready to go in the oven.

Ready to go in the oven.

 

 

 

 

 

Pecan Pie

Ingredients:

3 Tablespoons  margarine

3 eggs

1 cup dark corn syrup

1/4 cup dark brown sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/4 to 1 1/2 cups (10 -12 ounces) chopped pecans

9-inch pie shell

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees F.
  2. Melt margarine in a small pan on stove.
  3. In mixing bowl, beat eggs. Add corn syrup, sugar and vanilla, and stir until well blended. Add melted margarine and pecans and mix well.
  4. Pour mixture into unbaked pie shell.
  5. Bake for about 25 to 30 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Pie Crust:  I make my own.  To find out how, click either gluten-free pie crust or regular pie crust.

 

Leave a Reply

