Homemade Potato Chips

Homemade Potato Chips.

Homemade Potato Chips.

Grilling Season’s Here!

I don’t like potato chips. Plain, I mean. If they’re covered in sour cream & onion or salt & vinegar flavoring, then I could munch away until I practically pay someone to remove them from my sight! So, I have no idea why homemade potato chips entered my “dinner brain” and wouldn’t go away until I made them.  These were delicious! For those friends of mine (you know who  you are) worried about cooking in oil/”it’s not good for you”/”why would I promote these as healthy,” CHILLAX!

I promise not to make these more than a few times the whole summer.

The only flavoring on these is a bit of salt.

I believe when a recipe has less ingredients than fingers on a hand, and those ingredients are not made of chemicals, then the result can be called healthy or a healthy alternative.

So there!

1.  Peel potatoes and set up food processor with slicing disk.

1. Peel potatoes and set up food processor with slicing disk.

 

2.  Slice potatoes.

2. Slice potatoes.

 

 

 

 

 

3.  Add potato slices to preheated olive oil.

3. Add potato slices to preheated olive oil.

4.  Fry potato slices until golden.  Drain on paper towels after removing from frying pan.

4. Fry potato slices until golden. Drain on paper towels after removing from frying pan.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Serve.

Serve.

Homemade Potato Chips

Ingredients:

Potatoes–I used Russet potatoes, quantity depends on how many people you are serving and size of potatoes, I used 4 medium potatoes for 3 people.

Olive Oil–for frying, the oil was so clean that I collected it to use again.

Salt–to taste

Other Spices–optional

Directions:

1.  Peel potatoes and slice in a food processor.

2.  Heat olive oil in pan until its hot.

3.  Fry potatoes in oil until golden brown, turning to cook both sides.

4.  Drain on paper towels and sprinkle salt to taste.  (If using other spices, sprinkle now.)

5.  Serve and enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Homemade Potato Chips

Leave a Reply

