Keep Calm and Carry Yarn/ Potato Chip Scarf Pattern

keep-calm-and-carry-yarn-141

Texture + Color = Possibilities

I love yarn shops!  Vivid colors and scrumptious textures call out from the bins and shelves. (“Pick me, pick me!”).  I might walk in with a project in mind, or I might let the yarn decide what it wants to be.  I give it creative license!

Gorgeous Ella Rae Lace Merino Chunky blue/aqua and purple/berry variegated yarn caught my eye this fall.  I had recently finished a Potato Chip Scarf (so called because it’s ruffled) for me and wanted to knit another with chunkier yarn.  One teen daughter got a Potato Chip scarf and one got an  Infinity scarf.

Potato Chip Scarf knit with chunky merino wool.

Potato Chip Scarf knit with chunky merino wool.

Potato Chip Scarf knit in a finer wool, strands doubled.

Potato Chip Scarf knit with finer wool, strands doubled.

Infinity Scarf knit with chunky merino wool.

Infinity Scarf knit with chunky merino wool.

Infinity Scarf knit with chunky merino wool.

Infinity Scarf knit with chunky merino wool.

Petit Point pillow that may have caused me to need reading glasses!

Petit Point pillow that may have caused me to need reading glasses!

I also, finally, finished a petit point canvas and had it made into a pillow.  Petit point is comprised of smaller stitches than needlepoint.  The stitches were so small, I needed a magnifying light to see what I was doing!

I found this easy Potato Chip scarf pattern on Ravelry.

Potato Chip Scarf Pattern:

Yarn weight:  Aran/ 10 ply (8 wpi)

Needle size:  US 8  (5.0 mm)

Yardage:  300-310 yards (274 – 283 m)

Cast on 20 stitches.

Row 1:  knit 8, turn, knit back to beginning.

Row 2:  knit 6, turn, knit back to beginning.

Row 3:  Knit 4, turn, knit back to beginning.

Knit across all 20 stitches.

Repeat these rows until desired length is reaches.  Bind off.

………………………………………………………………………………………………

Infinity Scarf Post–Infinity scarf pattern.

Ravelry-The pattern I used is by Connor Thompson.

The Stitching Bee–Shout out to the yarn shop in Chatham, New Jersey

Happy knitting, Hon!

8 thoughts on “Keep Calm and Carry Yarn/ Potato Chip Scarf Pattern

  1. Is there no art form that you haven’t excelled at??? My goodness! You’re like the parable of the talents. When given ten talents, the person went out and gained ten more. This is definitely you! I love the scarves. I haven’t knitted in awhile. I’m feeling a bit rusty. But this might be a good pattern to regain my love of knitting.

    • I am floored by your comment! It’s one of the nicest things anyone’s ever said to me, thanks! I guess I don’t think of any of these things as talents, just expressions of my creativity. I think I’ve said this before, but I feel I was born in the wrong century.

      For the record, I took a jewelry making class and was horrible at it! I dropped a handmade, silver jump ring on a grey, linoleum floor, the blow torch scared me, sawing metal wasn’t my thing, and I botched up measurements for a necklace. Ugh! Back to the potter’s wheel, where clay can be re-formed, and the knitting needles, where mistakes can be unraveled!

Leave a Reply

