Pass a Piece of Pie

Pumpkin Pies

Pumpkin Pies

Apple pies

Apple Pies

Guess what I’m thinking of when I run these days?  Pie, of course!

After a pie baking day when I did not eat a piece of pie, I’ve been dreaming about dessert on Thanksgiving.  If you think I will be stuffed from dinner, you’re right.  But…

there’s always room for dessert!

Recipe for Pumpkin Pie

Recipe for Apple Pie

I made all the dough the same way, but some rolled out beautifully and some did not. After trying fruitlessly to roll out the top of one pie, I had an idea care of Ceramics class.

Apple pie, rolling pin and heart shaped cookie cutter.

Apple pie, rolling pin and heart shaped cookie cutter.

I used a heart shaped cookie cutter to cut out smaller sections of dough, which I then overlapped to form the top crust.  Do you like the result?

Apple pie covered in hearts.

Apple pie covered in hearts.

I also decided to make mini Apple Pies in a muffin tin. After lining the muffin tin with baking cups, I formed small pie crusts, added the apple filling and pinched the crusts closed.

Form mini pie crusts in baking cups.

Form mini pie crusts in baking cups.

Close-up of mini pie crusts.

Close-up of mini pie crusts.

Apple filling

Apple filling

Spoon apple filling into mini pie crust.

Spoon apple filling into mini pie crust.

Sprinkle a sugar/ cinnamon mixture on top and bake.

Sprinkle a sugar/ cinnamon mixture on top and bake.

The mini apple pies gave off a lot of liquid, which seeped out of the sides of the baking cups causing them to stick to the muffin tin. So, next time, I would drain the apple mixture more as well as double or triple the baking cups in each section.

Happy baking, hon!

4 thoughts on “Pass a Piece of Pie

Leave a Reply

