Thanksgiving Dinner–Southern Pecan Pie

Pecan Pie

Pecan Pie

I love pecan pie!  While showing off photos of my lovely-looking pie, I was informed that I pronounce pecan incorrectly.  I say pee-CAN, but was told it should be pronounced pi-CAHN.  Either way I say it, my mouth waters just thinking about one of my favorite desserts!

In addition to apple and pumpkin pies, I’m adding this pie to my Thanksgiving dinner menu.  I found it in a Williams-Sonoma Essentials of Baking cookbook.

Happy baking, hon!

P.S.  How do you pronounce pecan?

pie crust and filling ingredients

pie crust and filling ingredients

ready to go in the oven

ready to go in the oven

Pecan Pie:  Enjoy!

Pecan Pie: Enjoy!

PECAN PIE

Basic Pie Crust

1 1/3 (325 ml) cups flour

1/2 (2 ml) teaspoon salt

1/2 cup (125 ml) vegetable shortening

1/4 cup (50 ml) ice water

Food Processor Directions:  Insert steel blade in food processor.  Mix flour and salt, then place the mixture in the food processor.  Add shortening and process until mixture resembles cornmeal (about 5 seconds).  Slowly pour ice water through feed tube and process until dough forms a ball (about 5 to 10 seconds).  Chill dough for easier handling.

Shortcut:  If you don’t have time to make your own crust, use store-bought, unbaked pie crust.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Filling

3 large eggs

1/2 cup (4 oz/ 125 g) sugar

1 cup (10 oz/ 315 g) dark corn syrup

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 cup (2 oz/ 60g) unsalted butter, melted (I used margarine)

1 1/2 cups (6oz/ 185g) large pecan pieces, cut into halves and quarters

Whipped Cream, optional

Directions

1.  Roll out the crust and form a pie shell in a baking dish.

2.  To make the filling, in a large bowl, combine eggs, sugar, corn syrup, and vanilla.  Whisk until blended.

3.  Whisk in melted butter (or margarine) .

4.  Using a spoon, stir in pecans.

5.  Pour filling into pie crust.

6.  Bake pie until filling is set.  The cookbook’s recipe recommends 45-50 minutes baking time, but my pie took 65 minutes to bake, so I suggest watching the pie to see how much time it needs in your oven.  The center of the pie should jiggle slightly if the pan is given a gentle shake.

7.  Transfer to wire rack and let cool.  Serve warm or a room temperature with whipped cream, if desired.

*The pie can be covered with plastic wrap and stored at room temperature for up to 2 days.

*I made my pie a few weeks in advance and froze it, covering it in plastic wrap and tin foil.  I’ll thaw it the day before Thanksgiving and warm it in the oven on 250 degrees F before serving.

11 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Dinner–Southern Pecan Pie

  1. Pingback: Pecan Pie | Bmore energy

Leave a Reply

