Hop Along Blog Hop

DSC_9554
Blog Hop
Do you love children’s books?  I’m passionate about them!  Let me introduce you to several children’s book writers and answer questions posed to each of us as we Hop Along.
Linda Bozzo

Linda Bozzo

_______________________________________________________________________

Meet Linda Bozzo.  Linda tagged me on her blog, Writerlinda.blogspot.com.   She is the author of over 50 non-fiction books for the school and library market. She enjoys writing fiction as well as non-fiction for children.  Many of her fiction stories are inspired by her love of dance.  Linda is  member of the Society for Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators. She enjoys presenting her writing journey to both children and adults. Linda lives in New Jersey with her family where she can visit the Jersey shore and enjoy the culture of New York City. You can find Linda online at http://www.lindabozzo.com.

_________________________________________________________________________

Step Up To the Microphone
It's my turn to answer the Blog Hop questions.

It’s my turn to answer the Blog Hop questions.

Picture Book Idea Month

Picture Book Idea Month

Bulletin board with book ideas.

Bulletin board with picture book ideas.

_________________________________________________________________________
What are you working on now?
I’m participating in PiBoIdMo, Picture Book Idea Month, which means every day in November I think of a new picture book idea.  My brain is like a window and once I open it, the ideas flow through like fresh air!  My newest manuscript is about two brothers, sibling rivalry and superheroes.
How does it differ from other works in the genre?
My story grabs you from the first line!  It’s different because it gives boys ages 3-6 a story filled with supereheroes, spaceships, tests of will wrapped around funny and realistic brothers, and comic book action words.  Lightening Logan and his big brother Hawk are poised to take on the world.  “Pshht!  Pow!  Activtate!”
Why do you do what you do?
Story ideas, rhyming phrases, settings and characters pop in my head constantly.  I write to give them a place to grow.  To me, picture books are magical.  Picture books have resonance each time they’re read, the words are musical, and adults and children build bonds while reading together.  I strive to create that magic when I write.
What is the hardest part about writing?
When I write, I am transported to another world where I exist with my characters.  The hardest thing is finding a publisher who sees the potential for them to come alive, and is willing to take a chance on a new author.  I continue writing because I truly believe in my characters, stories and the magic that is ready to spring off the page and into the imagination of a child.
_________________________________________________________________________
Tag, You’re it!
Lin Vitale

Linda Vitale

Penelope, Linda's muse.

Penelope, Linda’s muse.

________________________________________________________________________

Linda Vitale is an award-winning advertising copywriter and creative director who has worked at top New York City agencies. She has created TV and radio spots, ads and promotions for Chase bank, Max Factor, Campbell’s Soups, American Airlines, Volkswagen/Porsche-Audi, to name a few. The only thing she didn’t write is Mad Men. And she should have, because this was and is her world.  In addition to advertising, Linda has written articles for New Jersey parenting publications. Currently she writes children’s books and humorous dog stories for her blog, muttshappeningnow@wordpress.com. Linda lives in Convent Station, New Jersey, and can be found pounding the keys of her laptop at her local Starbucks.
_________________________________________________________________________
Nicole Snitslear

Nicole Snitselaar

written by Nicole Snitselaar

written by Nicole Snitselaar

written by Nicole Snitselaar

written by Nicole Snitselaar

_________________________________________________________________________

I’m excited to introduce you to French children’s book author, Nicole Snitselaar.  We met through PiBoIdMo.  Here’s what Nicole says about her writing journey.

Writing, I’ve always loved writing!
But writing is so more rewarding when it can be shared.
I am lucky to have had  many picture-books published these last years.
Most of my books are in French.

But you will never guess how happy I was when Top That published two of my English stories!

Why do I write in English?

In fact, English was my first language as a little girl, and it just rings so familiar to my ear. My parents read to us many picture books who came from Great Britain. I would even say, they only read English books!

It was so much easier for my mother! She is Scottish. She married a Dutch man (my father) and they lived in Belgium, and later in France. And my first language was English… It took time for my mother to learn French !

And I got to speak French once I went to school at the age of 4.

Today I am the mother of five young adults.
I have been wririn songs and nursery rhymes for… as far as I can remember! I have several CD’s released.  (one about English nursery rhymes in French and English )

One day, I decided it was time for me to start writing more than just songs.

I really enjoy this activity and hope that you will enjoy discovering my stories!
If you want  to learn more about me, my life, my books, you may visit my English blog or French blog.

2 thoughts on “Hop Along Blog Hop

Leave a Reply

