Southwest Roadtrip: The Great Sand Dunes, Up Close

The Great Sand Dunes

The Great Sand Dunes

In my last post, I was at the base of The Great Sand Dunes in Alamosa, Colorado. I was awed by their height, the starkness of the sand against the sky and The Quiet.

IMG_1456

Some of us had the urge to slide down the dunes then climb back up. We all wanted to absorb the warmth of the sand.

Tween Daughter with my childhood friend's daughters.

Tween Daughter with my childhood friend’s daughters.

IMG_1461

Teen Daughter and shout out to my childhood friend, Cindy, who drove from Albuquerque, NM to meet us in Colorado.

Teen Daughter and Cindy, my childhood friend, who drove from Albuquerque, NM to meet us in Colorado.

 

Tween Daughter

Tween Daughter

IMG_2369

IMG_1458

In the profoundness of The Quiet, I thought I might hear G-d whisper. Standing atop a mountain of sand, I felt close to the heavens. Walking ahead, the rising sand is all you can see. Behind, the immense, lush Sangre de Cristo Rocky Mountains are as tall as the clouds.

The dunes call out to your mind, body and soul. I never wanted to leave.

Teen Daughter

Teen Daughter

8 thoughts on “Southwest Roadtrip: The Great Sand Dunes, Up Close

Leave a Reply

