Chocolate Chocolate-Chip Muffins

Chocolate Chocolate-Chip Muffins

Chocolate Chocolate-Chip Muffins

chocolate chips, flour, cocoa powder

chocolate chips, flour, cocoa powder

dry ingredients combined

dry ingredients combined

almond milk, vegetable oil and eggs

almond milk, vegetable oil and eggs

wet ingredients combined

wet ingredients combined

muffin batter ready for the oven

muffin batter ready for the oven

What's almost as good as the muffins?  Licking the spoon, of course!

What’s almost as good as the muffins? Licking the spatula, of course!

Chocolate Chocolate-Chip Muffins

If you haven’t guessed by now, I have a sweet tooth, also known as “Dessert Disease!”

Put chocolate and chocolate chips in a muffin and I call it healthier than cake (you know I love chocolate cake!).  In any case, what I love about this recipe is that there are only 10 ingredients and they are all identifiable.  When I look up the multitude of ingredients and preservatives on the labels of baked goods at the grocery store, I get hives!  That’s not to say I never buy store-bought baked goods (ahem…my tween loves her mini muffins), but IF I have the time and I’m not doing a million other things, you’ll find me mixing, pouring, baking and, of course, licking the spatula!

Happy baking, hon!

source:  Nigella Lawson on FoodNetwork.com

Ingredients:

1 3/4 cup flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

2 Tablespoons cocoa powder

3/4 cup superfine sugar (I used my regular sugar)

3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips, plus 1/4 cup for sprinkling

1 cup milk (I used almond milk instead)

1/3 cup plus 2 teaspoons vegetable oil

1 egg

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  Put the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cocoa, sugar, and 3/4 cup of the chocolate chips into a large bowl. Combine the liquid ingredients into another bowl.  Mix the dry and wet ingredients together. Note from original recipe says “lumpy batter makes the best muffins.”  Spoon batter into prepared muffin tins.  Sprinkle the remaining 1/4 cup chocolate chips on top and bake for 20 minutes or until muffins are dark, risen and springy.

Yield:  12 muffins

8 thoughts on “Chocolate Chocolate-Chip Muffins

Leave a Reply

