Flip Flop Flap

Louie the hound dog.

Louie the hound dog.

I love flip flops!  

I’d be happy to wear them year-round. Except I live in New Jersey and would lose circulation in my toes when the temperature drops below 70 degrees F.  At University of Massachusetts at Amherst, I was friends with a guy who wore flip flops year-round.  He wore them in the winter.  When there was snow on the ground.  And ice.  All while riding a skateboard.  He was from Hawaii.  I’d see him and say, “Aren’t your feet cold?”  He’d say, “Nope, they’re fine,” and skate away. But, I digress.

IMG_0552

This April, I stopped in my local Army and Navy store to check their flip flop selection.  For some reason, I only had the left shoe of my favorite pair.  Here’s my conversation with David, the manager of the store.

Me:  “Hi, I’m looking for wide-strap, black Reef’s, size 7 or 8.”

David:  “Didn’t your brother’s dog eat your flip flop last year?”

Me:  “No, I don’t think so.”

David:  “Are you sure?  I remember you coming in last year and telling me your brother’s dog ate your flip flop.”

Me:  “You must be thinking of someone else.”

David:  “Maybe, but I think it was you.”

Me:  “Ummmm…”

David:  “You told me that you took your flip flops off at dinner.  They were under the kitchen table but, after dinner, you could only find one shoe.  The dog had eaten the other one.  You were pretty mad because they were your favorite pair.”

Me:  “Hmmmm.”  (With all that detail, a pinprick of light shone in when the door to my Memory Room was opened.)

Me:  “Wait!  You might be right….”

David:  “You said you were going to ask your brother to pay for a new pair of flip flops!”

Me:  “I did?”

David:  “Yup.”

Me:  “Now I remember!  We visited my brother and his family last summer.  They had just adopted Louie and he did eat my flip flop! I can’t believe you remembered all that!”

Luckily, the store had my favorite flip flops in stock.  I  bought them.

Moral to the story:  Don’t leave your flip flops under the kitchen table where the dog is waiting for food to fall.

Look in Louie's eyes. You can' stay mad at him!

Look at Louie’s eyes. You can’ stay mad at him!

Louie the Lovebug says, "Pleassse scratch my belly!"to my niece.

Louie the Lovebug says, “Pleassse scratch my belly!”to my niece.

10 thoughts on “Flip Flop Flap

  1. Don’t worry, Kim, I think it’s funny. Lucy’s eaten a whole bunch of stuff–Hannah’s hand-loomed pillow, socks, undies, leashes, plastic water dishes, towels and about five dog beds! We now know to keep things up high! Glad you like the pics. Louie really is a lovebug!

  2. I couldn’t read this one without commenting. Sorry about Louie eating your flip flop. On the other hand, you are right that he has the kind of face you cannot stay mad at. Those photos are gorgeous by the way!

  3. Wow. What a story. The manager should get a raise, because he has an incredible memory. Now that’s customer service!!

    I also knew a guy in college who wore flip flops. I never saw him with a coat on, even when the weater dipped blow zero!

  4. Shari, I bet there are lots of people who can relate to a dog eating a shoe! (among other things) I like your other moral and I am enjoying my new flip flops in this warm weather. 🙂

  5. Thanks for making me smile as I read your post! As usual, I can relate to your story. First, my sister’s dog once ate one of my daughter’s flip flops (about 15 years ago–you brought back that distant memory). And, I also sometimes forget what should be a very memorable moment. Before your Memory Room opened, I was about to be annoyed with the store owner for being intrusive and making an assumption! Another moral: gratitude for sharp business owners!
    Enjoy your new pair!

Leave a Reply

