Cicada City Part II

Lucy wonders what I'm holding.

Lucy thinks, what is Mommy holding?

Lucy says, "How does it smell?"

Lucy thinks, how does it smell?

2013 might be the Chinese Year of the Snake, but at Bmore Energy it’s the Week of the Puppy.

Lucy “guest blogged” “Fluffy Father’s Day” and, in honor of her turning two, I’m featuring my furry sweetheart again.

In my recent post, Cicada City Part I, you met Little Miss Cicada.  What I didn’t say was how Lucy reacted to her first encounter with the large buzzing bug.  Before Lucy met Little Miss Cicada, several dog owners told me that their dogs were feasting on the cicadas. One told me she didn’t even need to give her dog kibble because he was eating so much.

Teenage Daughter #2 babysat for a family who warned her to keep their dog, Molly, inside because Molly was eating the cicadas then throwing them up.  But when Teenage Daughter #2 opened the door to let the kids in, Molly ran out and, you guessed it, ate a cicada.  Teenage Daughter #2 reported, “Molly started acting really weird.  She was twitching and gagging.  I think the cicada was still alive in her stomach!  I was just praying she wasn’t going to throw up!”

Teenage Daughter #1, who babysat for the same family, replied, “I’m afraid of throw up!  Literally, afraid.  And I couldn’t even walk on their grass because of the cicadas.  It was like step, cicada, step, cicada!  They’re disgusting!”

Cicada shells clustered in the grass.

Cicada shells clustered in the grass.

Back to Lucy.  Hon, the photos and 45 second video say it all!

Lucy's not sure she likes this big bug!

Lucy’s not sure she likes this big bug!

8 thoughts on “Cicada City Part II

  1. I’m excited to find this web site. I wanted to thank you for ones time just for this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoyed every little bit of it and I have you book-marked to look at new stuff in your blog.

  2. My daughter thinks I should make a Instagram account for Lucy. Still thinking if Little Miss Cicada and Peanut and Jelly (the hissing cockroaches) can be friends!

  3. Lucy is totally adorable and should have her own talk show. But I want Miss Cicada to survive as long as she can and be the star of the picture book that you will write.

Leave a Reply

