Is Social Media A Must?

My favorite bookends feature a typewriter, books...

My favorite bookends feature a typewriter, books…

...a dial phone, banker's lamp and "book" titled Words and Phrases.

…a dial phone, banker’s lamp and “book” titled Words and Phrases.

There was a time when the term Social Media was not part of our lexicon, when we didn’t debate whether to have a Facebook page, Linked In might mean we were walking arm-in-arm with a friend, only birds Tweeted, Instagram could have referred to grams of instant coffee, cowboys said, “Yahoo,” a (search) engine would have something to do with a car, and hard alcohol was served in Tumblr’s.

Now, as professionals, we must decide which Social Media platforms to use if we want to build up a “platform,” increase our social standing, “brand” ourselves and connect across the internet and with the world.

I’ll admit it, I was resistant to change.  Why?  Because I like to talk on the phone with my friends (gasp), send paper party invitations (really?), look up definitions in my dictionary (scandalous) and synonyms in my thesaurus (what’s that?), occasionally listen to college cassette tapes (the music on my mix tapes are classic!) and (no way!) write letters.

But, since I’ve started blogging I’ve enjoyed “meeting” people from all over the world, making a commitment to myself to write, sharing my various interests, and creating a place where I present myself professionally while still allowing my voice to come through.

It was on Twitter that I saw a post on social media by Kristen Lamb, author of We Are Not Alone-The Writer’s Guide To Social Media.  In her post, she compares taking care of your online presence to taking care of your family.  It turns out that Social Media has daily needs just like our families, pets, homes and lives.

Considering that I am an “aspiring author,” having published articles but not yet my books, I’ve wondered if grooming this creature is necessary.  But, when my triplets started college last fall, I decided it was time, my time, to move forward on a path I’ve craned my neck toward for years.

Is social media a must?  You have to decide what furthers your career goals and, for now, I must “feed my craft” however I can.  That means treating Social Media to a healthy, balanced meal with the hope, wish and intention of having a big ice cream sundae with a cherry on top as a reward!

Hon, what are your thoughts on the issue?

4 thoughts on “Is Social Media A Must?

  1. I just made an Instagram account, but don’t know how much I’ll use it. Linked In is also on my “to do” list. I fantasize about hiring an administrative assistant to help me with social media and more. (I also fantasize about converting my barn into a studio if I win the Lottery. One problem, I don’t play the Lottery!)

  2. Ah, Naomi, you and me both. I had to be dragged kicking and screaming to blogging and Twitter this year. Still resisting the siren allure of Pinterest and Tumblr. I can barely keep up with Twitter. But I’m glad I started blogging finally.

    On the flip side of the debate, I read an article (wish I could remember where) that mentioned Suzanne Collins lack of Internet presence. And she was the bestselling author last year. *shrugs*

  3. Good day! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links
    or maybe guest authoring a blog post or vice-versa?
    My site addresses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I believe we could greatly
    benefit from each other. If you happen to be interested feel free to send me
    an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Fantastic blog by the way!

    • Thanks for commenting and the complement! I will definitely check out your blog and to your question, maybe. I am in “Writer’s Conference Mode,” getting ready for one next weekend, so I am revising manuscripts and working on pitches. How about I get back to you when that’s over? 🙂

Leave a Reply

