Homemade Granola

IMG_0300

Seed and nuts mixture and gluten free oats mixture (featured in my wheel thrown ceramic bowls)

1 cup combination of seeds, nuts and dried fruit, 4 cups oats (featured in my wheel thrown ceramic bowls)

gathering ingredients, I used gluten free oats

gather ingredients, I used gluten free oats

pour seed mixture into bowl with oats

pour seed mixture  into bowl with oats

thoroughly combine butter mixture with seeds/ oats mixture

thoroughly combine butter mixture with seeds/ oats mixture

spread granola on baking sheet, now its ready to bake

spread granola on baking sheet, it’s ready to bake

Homemade Granola on top of vanilla yogurt.  Yum!

Homemade Granola on top of vanilla yogurt. Yum!

Homemade Granola

One of my daughters came up with this recipe and I had to make another batch when she returned to school. I know this doesn’t look or taste like chocolate cake (my fave), but it satisfied my sweet tooth.  Hon, this recipe is easy, healthy and delicious!

Ingredients:

1 cup butter (margarine or coconut oil)

1/2 cup honey

1/8 cup maple syrup

2 teaspoons vanilla

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

4 cups oats (I used gluten free oats)

1 cup (or a little more) of a combination of seeds, nuts and dried fruit (In the photo above, I used flax seeds, sunflower seeds, chopped almonds, chopped walnuts, raisins and Craisins. Other times, I’ve added chopped pecans, dried apricots and dried pineapples).

A large baking sheet with raised sides.  I lined mine with aluminum foil.

Directions:

Preheat oven to 300 degrees F.

1.  In a medium saucepan, melt butter over low heat.  Add honey, maple syrup, vanilla, salt and cinnamon.

2.  Mix oats with seeds/nuts/dried fruit combination.

3.  Pour melted butter mixture over oats and seeds mixture, mixing thoroughly. Coat entire oats/ seeds mixture with butter mixture.

4.  Pour granola mixture onto baking sheet.

5.  Bake for 15 minutes, take out, stir and spread again, return to oven.  Bake for another 15 minutes.  (Some batches may take another 10-15 minutes.  The granola may seem gooey and not dry yet, but it will dry when you take it out of the oven and let it cool.

6.  Sprinkle more cinnamon on baked granola if desired.

7.  Cool before removing from baking sheet.

Enjoy!

10 thoughts on “Homemade Granola

  1. Looks great. I just found a granola I love at Costco. It has coconut and whole grains in it as well as chia so it helps with cholesterol control. Mine is on the high side so I try to eat this a few times a week along with oatmeal.

      • Sunflower seeds are very healthy but not sure I’d put them in granola that is going into yogurt. I add them to my salads for lunch. I made a kale salad last week with them.

Leave a Reply

