Pumpkin Dog Biscuits

Did someone say, “Biscuit?”

Pumpkin Dog Biscuits

Smells so good!

Yummm!

Belly’s full.  Ready for a nap.

It may be the Chinese Year of the Dragon, but at Bmore Energy it’s the Week of the Dog! In search of a recipe for the K-2 Wags-n-Whiskers After-School-Enrichment class I teach, this recipe pawed its’ way to the top. (I can’t stop cooking–will someone please relieve me of my measuring cups?) These biscuits are easy to make, healthy and yummy (just ask Lucy). Happy baking, hon!

PUMKIN DOG BISCUITS

2 eggs

1/2 cup canned pumpkin

2 Tablespoons dry milk

1/4 teaspoon sea salt

2 1/2 cups brown rice flour

1 teaspoon dried parsley, optional

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

In a large bowl, whisk together eggs and pumpkin until smooth. Stir in dry milk, sea salt and dried parsley, if using. Add brown rice flour gradually, combining with spatula or hands to form a stiff, dry dough.  If the dough is too crumbly, add about a 1/4 cup of water and blend thoroughly. Turn out onto a lightly floured surface (can use the brown rice flour to flour surface and rolling pin) and if dough is still rough, knead and press to combine.

Roll dough between 1/4″ to 1/2″ thick and use cookie cutters to create shapes. Gather and re-roll scraps as you go. Place shapes on cookie sheet, with or without parchment paper. If desired, press fork patterns on biscuits before baking, lightly pressing in a quick up-and-down movement, halfway through dough.

Bake 20 minutes. Remove from oven and carefully turn biscuits over, then bake an additional 20 minutes. Allow to cool completely on rack before letting your pup try them.

Yield: depends on the size of the cookie cutters, I got about 3 dozen with medium sized cookie cutters.

According to the my source Simmer Till Done, http://simmertilldone.com/2009/10/07/retriever-retriever-pumpkin-eater, brown rice flour gives the biscuits crunch and promotes good dog digestion.

11 thoughts on “Pumpkin Dog Biscuits

  1. Naomi-Koal ruptured his right ACL in July and the week before my Mom passed, he ruptured his left ACL so he has had 2 surgeries in just a few months.

  2. Hi Naomi-I have always made my own pumpkin doggie cookies too but would just roll them in a ball. I was too lazy to use the cookie cutter. However, I’ve done quite a bit of research into my dogs diets especially after Koal’s surgery and any wheat or grain products are really bad for dogs. I put up an article on my facebook page about it and will try and send it to you. I took my dogs off of all wheat/grain products. They get mostly protein and a dog food very high in protein without those grain fillers. Much healthier.

Leave a Reply

